Below you will find a selection of specialized databases most relevant to your studies at PNCA. You can find a comprehensive list at the Hatfield Library's Database A to Z page.
Please note: in order to access databases, you will use your Willamette University login information. If you have not yet signed up for your WU account, please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance.
Academic OneFile is a terrific source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF, HTML full-text and audio files, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly.
Provides full text for more than 8,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 12,500 journals. Over 7,300 of the full text journals are peer reviewed.
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes and abstracts over 600 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Full text is provided to more than 300 periodicals. Includes coverage of film, photography and architecture. Also indexes almost 200,000 art reproductions.
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Provides coverage of fine, decorative and commercial art. Indexes over 600 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, including peer reviewed journals. Includes over 25,000 book reviews.
Provides access to journal articles on art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, and theatre and cultural studies.
Artstor is a digital library of more than one million high-resolution, downloadable images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Artstor serves users both within the arts and in disciplines outside of the arts.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
The Chicago Manual of Style is PNCA’s official institutional style for writing. This online resource will help you with all aspects of writing within this style including publishing standards, grammar, and citations of all kinds.
Periodical database for serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day.
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 1,600 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 46 million pages are now available.
Search all the Gale and Infotrac databases at the same time!